rose

Yes, my Beloved, it is thus that my life’s brief day shall be spent before Thee. No other means have I of proving my love than to strew flowers; that is, to let no little sacrifice escape me, not a look, not a word, to avail of the very least actions and do them for Love. I wish to suffer for Love’s sake and for Love’s sake even to rejoice; thus shall I strew flowers. Not one shall I find without shedding its petals for Thee…and then I will sing, I will always sing, even if I must gather my roses in the very midst of thorns – and the longer and sharper the thorns the sweeter shall be my song.

St Therese, Story of A Soul, Chapter XI

The demands of love are incredibly challenging. So I seek the Lord’s aid for without His Majesty I can do nothing of merit. To love is to sacrifice for the good of the other. The greater the sacrifice, the deeper and sweeter the love. The deed doesn’t matter as much. A smile that costs one much proves a greater love than great deeds that costs one little.

When I am feeling down, smiling costs me much. So I strive to choose to smile especially in troubled times. The longer and sharper the thorns, the sweeter my song shall be.

